Beauchemin Receives Post-Season Award

Beauchemin Receives Post-Season Award

(PRESQUE ISLE, ME)  Chelsea Beauchemin (So./Adams, MA) has been named to the NCAA Association of Division III Independents "All-Independent" Team for women's soccer.  The UMPI midfielder was awarded 1st team recognition.

Beauchemin played in all 14 Owls' matches this season, scoring 5 goals and assisting on 12 others.  The goals were 2nd most on the team while her assist totals led the squad.

"'Beauche' had a great year for us," said Owls' first year coach Trevor Parent, "she made sacrifices left and right for the UMPI women's soccer program. She did everything that was asked of her and more. Chelsea played further back in our system than last year, but she persevered and had an even higher number of assists this year. At the end of the year she was ranked number five in the country for assists per game, and number thirty-two  in terms of total assists. The #5 and #32 rankings are for the entire NCAA Division III – huge numbers. Chelsea was most deserving of this accolade."   


Read the full AD3I release:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                
November 2012

Association of Division III Independents

Names 2012 All-Independent Women's Soccer Teams

OVERLAND PARK, Kan.--- The 2012 All-Independent Women's Soccer teams were announced today by the Association of Division III Independents. 
Offensive Player of the Year
Emily Ristow
, Mount Mary College, SO, Forward, Sheboygan, Wis. – Ristow's 33 goals and eight assists shattered Mount Mary records. 
Defensive Player of the Year
Nicole Farinella
, St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn), JR, Goalkeeper, East Patchogue, N.Y. – Farinella recorded six shutouts and held the opposition to two or fewer goals in all but two games.
Rookie of the Year
Pamela Chernyakhovsky
, St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn), FR, Midfielder, Brooklyn, N.Y. – Chernyakhovsky scored nine goals and was the offensive catalyst for this first-year squad.
Coach of the Year
Joe Shokatz,
Mount Mary College.
The All-Independent Women's Soccer teams were selected by the women's soccer coaches from the Association of Division III Independents member schools.
First Team
Forward – Emily Ristow, Sophomore, Mount Mary College
Forward – Ashlee Slade, Freshman, Nebraska Wesleyan University
Forward – Rasika Perera, Junior, Mount Mary College
Midfielder – Pamela Chernyakhovsky, Freshman, St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn)

Midfielder – Chelsea Beauchmin, Senior, University of Maine-Presque Isle

Midfielder – Bayleigh Collins, Freshman, Nebraska Wesleyan University
Midfielder – (tie) Allison Appmann, Junior, Mount Mary College, and Makensie Thaller, Sophomore, Nebraska Wesleyan University
Defender – Nina Her, Junior, Mount Mary College
Defender – Leah Stevens, Senior, Nebraska Wesleyan University
Defender – Shannon Rom, Sophomore, St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn)
Goalkeeper – Nicole Farinella, Junior, St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn)
Second Team
Forward – Amber Johnson, Freshman, Nebraska Wesleyan University
Forward – Daniella Valencia, Freshman, St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn)
Forward – Cynthia Gambino, Junior, St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn)
Midfielder – Haley Neri, Sophomore, Finlandia University
Midfielder – Hillary Guynn, Junior, Finlandia University
Midfielder – Jenna Herse, Freshman, Nebraska Wesleyan University
Defender – Jessica Ingold, Senior, Finlandia University
Defender – Lauren Ziegenbein, Freshman, Nebraska Wesleyan University
Defender – Ashley Leverenz, Junior, Mount Mary College
Goalkeeper – (tie) Emily Dierks, Senior, Nebraska Wesleyan University, and Kirby McMahon, Senior, Mount Mary College
The Association of Division III Independents consists of 10 Division III independent institutions that have joined together to recognize student-athletes at independent institutions, and to provide exempted postseason championship competition. The Association recognizes outstanding athletic achievements of its student-athletes on a weekly, monthly and annual basis. The Association provides statistical services for its members in seven sports. In addition, it will announce All-Independent teams at the conclusion of eight other sports this year.
More information about the Association of Division III Independents is available at

# # # # #