2017-18 Owls Athletics Award Banquet

2017-18 Owls Athletics Award Banquet

Presque Isle, ME—The University of Maine at Presque Isle Athletics Department held their annual Owls Athletic Awards Banquet on Wednesday night.  All of the athletes attended to honor the contributions and achievements of their fellow student athletes.  The only team that was unable to attend was the Baseball team as they were headed to New York to begin playoff play in the CUNYAC Conference.


The Male and Female Athletes of the Year were awarded to senior Kevin Collins (Fort Washington, MD) of the Men's Basketball team and Freshman Melanee Terry (Moreno Valley, CA) of the Softball team.

Collins had a remarkable year as a senior captain for the Owls.  He helped lead the basketball team to the ACAA Championship game, their first appearance in a championship game in over 20 years. Along the way Collins earned ACAA All-Tournament team and ACAA All-Conference First Team.  Collins also received All-State recognition, being named to the Second Team All-State.  His season and career at UMPI was highlighted on in a win vs. Fisher College where he scored his 1,000th career point, ending his career at 1,262 points.

Terry had an incredible rookie season at UMPI putting up numbers have her at the top the ACAA Conference and the USCAA.  At the end of the regular season she holds a, .571 batting average, a .667 on base percentage, a 1.000 slugging percentage, 44 hits, 15 doubles, six homeruns, and only striking out once in her 77 at bats in 32 games.  Terry will continue to lead her team in the playoffs this year in the ACAA Conference and the USCAA Nationals.


The Annual Al Arman "Make a Difference" Award is presented to the student-athletes or students that truly have made a difference within UMPI athletics and/or the campus community. 

This years Male recipient was Kristijan Gavrilovski (Gostivar, Macedonia), a senior athlete whose playing career was ended early due to injury, so he then became an assistant coach of the Men's Basketball team.  Helping the team in many different ways.  In the campus community he works as a resident assistant in the dorms, is the vice president of the Student Athlete Advisory Committee, and helping in any other aspect within athletics and the university.

The female recipient was Alissa Edwards (Nebraska City, NE), a junior captain softball player who was also sidelined with an injury.  Before her injury, Edwards was the Owls starting shortstop, batting .412 and held a .565 on base percentage.  Once sidelined, Edwards' attitude stayed positive as she continued to lead the Owls and always put her team before her.  Off the field, Edwards helps with the university and athletics in multiple ways.  She is the president of the Student Athlete Advisory Committee, a resident assistant in the dorms, and a Peer Accommodator in Student Support Services.


The Stanley H. Small Coaches Award is awarded to either a junior or senior who shows exemplary dedication to the athletic program during their years at UMPI.

This years recipient was Michael Guerrette (Presque Isle, ME) of the men's soccer, cross country, and track and field.  As a senior captain of the soccer team he helped lead the young Owls team on and off the field.  Also working as a work-study student in athletics, Guerrette is always on time and always insuring that every coach and player has everything they need for trips and practices.  He is not only a coachable player but a coachable person, and he will return next year to finish classes and help the men's soccer team as an assistant coach.


The Donald N. Zillman Character Award is awarded to one student-athlete who, through their actions in the competitive arena of intercollegiate athletics, has demonstrated the ideals of good character though sportsmanship, including fairness, civility, honesty, unselfishness, respect, and responsibility.

Jessica Dickison (Houlton, ME) was this years recipient.  As a two-sport student athlete, Dickison will graduate with honors.  She is the 2018 Most Outstanding Exercise Science Major Award recipient and an USCAA Academic All-American. Dickison was named to the 2017 All-ACAA Second Team, and she is a proven leader, as she was a captain of the women's basketball and soccer teams.


The Ruel Parks Award is awarded to one player on the women's basketball team.  Kendra Silvers (North Berwick, ME) is the recipient of this years award.  Silvers exemplifies what the Ruel Parks award means, as she is a passionate player, who is very dedicated to the team and has passion for the game of basketball.  Silvers put forth an honest effort everyday in practice and in games throughout the women's basketball season.


The Royal Goheen Award is given to the team with the highest grade point average. The Women's Cross Country team is the recipient of this years award.

The Sharon Roix Award is given to the team with the most improved grade point average.  The Men's Cross Country team is the recipient of this years award.

2017-18 Owls Athletic Banquet