UMPI Athletics Annual Athletics Awards

UMPI Athletics Annual Athletics Awards

PRESQUE ISLE, ME – The University of Maine at Presque Owl Athletics Department held their annual Athletic Awards Banquet on Wednesday night to honor the contributions and achievements of the student-athletes in the Owls Athletics Program.  All award winners are listed below.

The Male and Female Athletes of the year were awarded to Connor Hrynuk of the Nordic Ski Team and Carla Halvorson, a member of the Women's Soccer Team.

Connor Hrynuk (SO, Boonville, NY) had a remarkable season for the Nordic Ski Team.  His season was highlighted by taking third in the Eastern Collegiate Championships, the first every podium finish in program history.  That same event also serves as the Maine Collegiate Championships, meaning Connor finished first in the state of Maine.



Carla Halvorson (SR, Easton, ME) had a spectacular season for the Owls Women's Soccer Team.  She led the team in goals (13), points (29), and was tied for second in assists (3).  She had two game winning goals during the season.  She received USCAA Player of the Week honors, AD3I Player of the Week honors, AD3I Student-Athlete of the Month honors, and was selected to the AD3I First Team and USCAA Honorable Mention Team.



The annual Al Arman "Make a Difference" Award is presented to the student-athletes or students who truly have made a difference within athletics and/or the campus community.  The contributions can range from being a team manager to being a star player.  Attitude and effort mean everthing.  Each year the athletic staff discusses the events of the past season and determines who is worthy to receive this award.  This year's male recipient is Saul Nunez (JR, Mapleton, ME) of the Men's Cross Country and Baseball teams.  The co-female recipients are Abigail Deveau (SO, North Anson, ME) of the Women's Soccer Team and Sara Packard (JR, St. Albans, ME) of the Softball Team.



The Stanley H. Small Coaches Award is awarded to either a junior or senior who has shown exemplary dedication to the athletic program during their years at the University of Maine at Presque Isle.  This year's recipient is Nicolas Lenhard (SR, Falcon, CO) of the Men's Basketball Team.



The Ruel Parks Award is in memory of the former assistant women's basketball coach and is awarded to a women's basketball player who is a passionate player who may always be the star, but is very dedicated to her team, has a passion for the game of basketball, and is essential to team chemistry.  This year's recipient is Emilia Churchill (FR, Washburn, ME).



The Donald N. Zillman Character Award honors one student-athlete who, through their actions in the competitive arena of intercollegiate athletics, has demonstrated on or more of the ideals of character development through sportsmanship, including fairness, civility, honesty, unselfishness, respect, and responsibility.  The recipient promotes and enhances the integrity of higher education and civility in society.  This year's recipient is Sully Jackson (SR, Wilton, ME) of the Men's Cross Country Team.



The Royal Goheen Award is given to the team with the highest grade point average.  The Women's Nordic Ski Team is the recipient of that award.

The Sharon Roix award is given to the team with the most improved grade point average.  The Volleyball team is this year's recipient of that award.

Team Awards


Men's Cross Country

            Rookie of the Year:                              Jacob Welch

            Most Inspirational Runner:                    Cameron Mathies

            Runner of the Year       :                       Sully Jackson


Women's Cross County

            Rookie of the Year:                              Brianna Lesperance

            Most Inspirational Runner:                    Elise Gudde

            Runner of the Year       :                       Brianna Lesperance


Men's Soccer

            Rookie of the Year:                              Mathew Curtis

            Most Inspirational Player:                     Michael Guerrette

            Most Valuable Player:                          Derek Healy


Women's Soccer

            Rookie of the Year       :                       Laura Sturgeon

            Most Inspirational Player:                     Kendra Gregarczyk

            Most Valuable Player:                          Carla Halvorson


Women's Volleyball

            Rookie of the Year:                              Laura Aroz

            Most Inspirational Player:                     Hannah Williams

            Most Valuable Player:                          Abigail Jewett


Men's Basketball

            Most Inspirational Player:                     Anthony Chacho

            Captain's Award:                                 Nicolas Lenhard & Jordan Cook

    Newcomer of the Year:       Ebby Kamara


Women's Basketball

            Rookie of the Year:                              Emilia Churchill

            Most Valuable Player:                          Amanda Hotham

            Coach's Award :                       Teagan Laweryson


Men's Nordic Skiing

            Rookie of the Year:                              Jason Bartley

            Most Inspirational Skier:                       John Paluszek

            Most Valuable Skier:                            Connor Hrynuk


Women's Nordic Skiing

            Most Valuable Skier:                            Lydia Streinz



            Co-Rookies of the Year:            Martin Egan & William Stinson

            Most Inspirational Player:                     Matt Cauchon

            Most Valuable Player:                          Ryan Sanderson


Women's Softball

            Rookie of the Year:                              Ariel Williams

            Most Inspirational Player:                     Alissa Edwards

            Co-Coach's Award:                              Alissa Edwards & Sara Packard